LibGuides: Counseling : Resources Types

Resource Types

Provides tips for locating scholarly articles, books, multimedia resources, and databases related to counseling.

Resource Types

What is a Journal?

A scholarly magazine or newspaper that is published regularly about a particular subject: each issue contains multiple articles, often with a similar theme. Articles in scholarly publications are generally peer-reviewed and usually very focused on topic and scope.

Academic Journal

It may also be called "peer-reviewed" or "scholarly articles."
Often intended for a professional audience
Provide an authoritative perspective

Why should you use them:

Information is based on research and expertise
Information is detailed and focused on a narrow topic
The peer-review process (mostly) ensures that the information is accurate
They add to the growing conversation of a topic by contributing new ideas.

Locating Journal Articles

Below is a small selection of databases relating to counseling. For a list of Counseling & Psychology databases, click here: A-Z Databases.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES + abstracts of other scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Sage Premier provides access to more than 1,200 online journals published by Sage. Find top research on a wide variety of subjects including Biblical/theological studies, business, counseling & psychology, criminal justice, education, social work, and many others. Now available: Cairn has access to the complete run of 769 Sage titles.
Sociology Source Ultimate (includes SocINDEX with FT) This link opens in a new window
A step up from SocINDEX with FT, Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying social behavior and interaction.

What is a Monograph?

A monograph, also known as a book, is often a written analysis or exposition of a topic written by one or more individuals.

The content of the material falls into many categories, such as,

Literary Works (novels, poetry, plays, etc)
Scholarly Works
- Author Biographies
- Studies of language, grammar, or linguistics,
- Commentaries or exposition on the work
- Historical or multidisciplinary surveys (cover a topic relevant to understanding a literary work)
- Bibliographies (thematic Listings of literary works)

When & Why to Use Scholarly Books:

You need to understand a complex topic
You need a very in-depth analysis of a topic
you need broad coverage of one or more topics
You need a summary of existing research on a topic.

Locating Books:
Search for both print and eBooks here: Search ALL Library Resources.

Filters can help narrow down results based on particular formats, dates, subjects, and more. See Searching Effectively for more tips on locating resources.

Below is a small selection of databases where you can search for eBooks. Check here for more database options.

Annual Review: Psychology This link opens in a new window
The Annual Review of Psychology covers the significant developments in the field of Psychology.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
EBook Central from ProQuest offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
eBook Collection from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package (over 130,000 titles to date) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection.
Oxford Scholarship Online Psychology This link opens in a new window
The psychology list in Oxford Scholarship Online includes all titles from the best selling Oxford Psychology Series and covers cognitive psychology, cognitive neuroscience, and cognitive development. The list also includes key titles from the core areas of social psychology, such as political, personality, cultural, positive, evolutionary, health, and narrative psychology and the 2006 winner of the William James Book Award, Dan McAdams' The Redemptive Self.

Using Multimedia Sources:
Multimedia resources, such as DVDs, streaming videos, and audio recordings, play a valuable role in counseling education and practice. These materials provide diverse perspectives, real-world case studies, and interactive learning experiences that enhance understanding of psychological concepts and therapeutic techniques. Streaming platforms offer convenient access to lectures, documentaries, and role-playing scenarios, while audio resources, including podcasts and guided meditations, support skill development and self-care strategies. Libraries can serve as key access points for these multimedia tools, helping students and professionals stay informed and engaged in the evolving field of counseling.

Below are some databases that offer multimedia options. Check out the full list of Multimedia Databases here: A -Z Databases: Mixed-media Streaming

Films on Demand: Master Academic Package This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a Web-based digital streaming video delivery service providing access to over 22,000 high-quality educational programs in dozens of subjects areas. Areas of study include: humanities & social sciences; business & economics; science & mathematics; and, health & medicine. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system. management systems.
ALL of the videos in Films On Demand now have captioning and interactive transcripts available. The interface allows you to search for specific video segments, organize videos into folders, and create personal playlists for others to view. You can also integrate videos directly into elearning.
Alexander Street Press: Psychology & Counseling This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press' Psychology & Counseling presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments.
Collections include: Counseling and Therapy in Video; the Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy; and, Psychological Experiments Online
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a online video streaming service of documentaries, classic movies, and art-house films.
Please be advised that Kanopy has been selected to provide specific content that supports the instructional needs of various programs at Cairn University. However, some materials may not align with a Biblical worldview. The inclusion of such content does not imply endorsement by the Masland Library of Cairn University.

Counseling

Getting Started with Research

Research Help

Resource Types