Resume's are incredibly important to many professions and you will want to spend quite a bit of time preparing your resume when you are job hunting. There is a lot of advice out there, but we recommend that if you are a current student or alum that you create an account with Career Explorer and start your resume with one of the templates provided there. The resources below are a sampling of the many resources available through the Masland Library that may provide helpful information in creating your resume and cover letter.
Best Resumes for College Students and New Grads: Jump Start Your Career! by
College students and recent graduates have their work cut out for them in the job market. Not only are they competing for internships and jobs agaist more experienced candidates, most have had little to no instruction on how to write a resume. This is problematic, because a solid resume is essential for effectively marketing yourself to employers and recruiters.With this guide, students and grads can gain an advantage over their competition. Author Louise Kursmark lends situation-specific advice for creating resumes and explains how to use them effectivlely while navigating the job search market. She also provides guidance on writing cover letters, identifying skills, and presenting college experience effectively. Readers can browse a collection of more than 100 professionally written resume and cover letter samples, all written for college students and new grads.This enhanced edition includes a new chapter on using social media and other online resources in the job search, as well as updated resume samples.
The Elements of Resume Style by
Building your résumé should be one of the easier parts to the whole job-interview process. But instead it's becoming increasingly stressful as well! What kind of résumé will spark the employer's interest? Which kind most often get passed over? How far back are we supposed to go? How can we best explain those time gaps in between jobs? Are the rules different for online résumés? There are so many vital questions when it comes to building a résumé today, but only one way to be assured you're getting the right answers--by asking a hiring expert.Scott Bennett has hired hundreds of people in a variety of industries, and he knows firsthand the insights that will catch an employer's eye, as well as what dangers to avoid if you want to survive the first cut. In The Elements of Résumé Style, Bennett shows readers how to craft clear, compelling, targeted résumés and cover letters that actually work. In this new edition that includes social media and online-application tips, readers will be provided:• More than 1,400 action words, statements, and position descriptions that help sell your skills and experience• Hundreds of words, phrases, and vague claims to avoid• Advice for handling employment gaps, job-hopping, and requests for salary history and requirements• Sample résumés, response letter, inquiry letter, informational interview request letter, references, and more• Surprising tips for acing the interviewIn today's ultra-competitive environment, competition is intense no matter the field or position. And the often-overlooked first hurtle to jump over is no doubt the résumé. This candid book's time-tested tools will make sure yours stands out--helping to get you the job you deserve!
The HR Career Guide by
Featuring scores of proven career strategies and tactics from SHRM's popular Q&A columnist and New York Times bestselling author Martin Yate, The HR Career Guide is packed with practical, honest, real-world guidance for successfully navigating the challenges commonly faced throughout the complete career cycle, including: Starting Your HR Career, Resumes,Interviews, Networking, Job Searches, Job Stability, Leadership, Promotions & Transfers, Job Change, and Career Change.
Knock 'em Dead Resumes by
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=cat06884a&AN=cul.b1773845&site=eds-live&custid=s9004953
Knock em Dead Resumes and Templates by
On the list of things you want to do in life, writing a resume is right up there with hitting yourself in the head with a hammer. Yet your resume is the most financially important document you will ever own. When your resume works, you work, and when it doesn't, you don't either. It's that simple. Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates shows you how to write a killer resume and includes 105 ready-to-use Microsoft Word resume templates. You get resume writing advice from a New York Times career bestseller, plus 105 Microsoft Word resume templates. this is a winning combination that doesn't exist anywhere else. Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates is unique. Martin Yate, CPC, knows how to write a resume that works. He shows you how employers think about, prioritize, and express their needs for your job. Then he shows you how to leverage these insights to write a killer resume that will be more discoverable in resume databases and will then speak clearly to the recruiters and hiring manages who read it. Martin shows you how to sell your skills with integrity. You get all the advice on resume writing from the latest Knock 'em Dead Resumes, plus 105 ready-to-use Microsoft Word resume templates. It's a combination that you can't beat. A killer resume is the foundation of every successful career, and the tactics in these pages will guide your success for years to come. Knock 'em Dead Resume Templates is the definitive resource for creating a resume that gets results and helps you reach that next step on your professional path. This winning combination doesn't exist anywhere else. Knock 'em Dead Resume Template is unique. The future is here-what are you going to do?
Quick Resume and Cover Letter Book by
Americas leading job search and career guidance expert presents his definitive guide to resumes, offering well researched and proven techniques; a friendly, easy-to-follow design; and rock-solid advice to create outstanding resumes and, more importantly, use them effectively. The very easy-to-use first section of the book shows how to create a basic resume in about an hour and an improved resume in about half a day. The new edition includes more than 90 sample resumes written by professional resume writers for all types of jobs and people. The book also provides excellent career counseling sections to help people define their ideal job then go out and get it. This book can help anyone find a job from high school graduates to high-level professionals.'
Step-by-Step Resumes by
A guide to building a resume includes a collection of thousands of resume keywords to make one's resume stand out in electronic databases and a section on integrating a resume into one's social-networking strategy.
Unbeatable Resumes by
The top ten (BIG) mistakes of résumé writing -- Straight talk about your résumé (from a guy whose living depends on using them) -- Surprising facts about your résumé audience -- The résumés 3,000 hiring authorities want to see -- Key features of the most effective résumés -- The basic résumé and some résumé makeovers -- Sample traditional résumés -- Nontraditional résumés -- E-mailing résumés, cover letters, and attachments : increasing the chances your résumé will get read -- Leveraging your résumé -- How to handle common résumé problems (too many jobs, employment gaps, changing careers, relocating, etc) -- The top ten rules (you now know) of résumé writing.
You Are Hired - Resumes & Interviews by
This book focusses on the six steps towards getting hired. They are as follows: 1. How to Approach Job Search? 2. Designing your Resume 3. Cover Letter Drafting 4. Image Projection 5. Group Discussions 6. Interview Handling Techniques Each of these steps is explained in detail to ensure that you will be able to implement them in getting your dream job. These steps have explained various strategies for “how to get hired”. Examples of real life resumes and cover letters have been used throughout the book. Further as a part of my research, more than 10 amazing industry experts feature in this book. These experts generously share valuable inputs about the current industry trends in all aspects covered by this book. This book contains lots of examples and samples to clarify various points. This ensures that you get valuable enrichment from this book. Once you are invited for an interview or group discussion. You'll need to apply what you have learnt through this book and put into practice. The joy of developing and using these skills will culminate in you getting your dream job offer.
Cover Letter Magic by
Your cover letter is an employer's first impression of you. Learn simple, step-by-step techniques that will make your cover letter stand out from the competition.
Cover Letters by
Knock em Dead Cover Letters 11th edition—cover letters and strategies to get the job you want. Step-by-step guide for how write cover letters and every type of letter you will use in a job hunt. How to build, edit and polish professional letters for maximum impact and how to use them to get four times the interviews.
Knock Em Dead Job Search Letters and Templates by
Unique in the world of job search books, Knock'em Dead Job Search Letter Templates teaches you the latest tips and tactics for writing cover letters and job search letters for every job hunting challenge. In addition, you get 125 samples of different job search letters, and also 125 cover letter and job search letter templates, each ready to use in Microsoft Word format. The 125 cover letter and job search letter templates include: cover letters for recruiters, headhunters, hiring managers, and blind job postings; professional networking and LinkedIn connection request letters; telephone and face-to-face interview follow-up letters; negotiation, rejection, and reconnection letters; and finally, those glorious acceptance, resignation, and thank you letters. Written communication skills are a key requirement of every professional job today and represent an essential skill set that defines every successful professional career. Demonstrating effective written communication skills can add a whole new dimension to your candidacy: they help your resume get read with serious intent, and help your candidacy stand out throughout the selection cycle with demonstration of thoughtful written communication skills. The advice in Knock'em Dead Job Search Letter Templates will give your job hunt powerful ammunition and help you improve the written communication skills you need to succeed in this job search and throughout your career. This book includes the text and letter samples from the latest edition of Knock'em Dead Cover Letters, but also delivers something unique in the world of resume writing: 125 Microsoft Word letter templates, ready to use and move your job search forward. Is there a better resource for your needs than Martin Yate CPC and Knock'em Dead?
Step-by-Step Cover Letters by
Finally, a companion to the groundbreaking Step-by-Step Resumes workbook. Step-by-Step Cover Letters uses a foolproof system of paragraph starters and an overall framework to help readers easily build outstanding cover letters that will get interviews and job offers.
Ultimate Cover Letters: A Guide to Job Search Letters, Online Applications and Follow-Up Strategies by