Books & eBooks - Counseling Research - A Guide for Counseling or Psychology majors

Books and eBooks at Cairn

Part of research is also the diving deeper into your topic and reviewing published books. This section lists resources available online and onsite via the Masland Library. See also the links on the right hand side on how to effectively understand the research process.

eBooks

Browse the Online eBook Collections

Below is a listing of online eBook collections available to counseling and psychology majors. These eBooks can be accessed via a PC or on mobile devices. Note the search tool on the right hand side can also search all databases for eBooks and regular books.

eBook Collection from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
This growing subscription package (over 130,000 titles to date) contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
EBook Central from ProQuest offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
Oxford Scholarship Online Psychology This link opens in a new window
The psychology list in Oxford Scholarship Online includes all titles from the best selling Oxford Psychology Series and covers cognitive psychology, cognitive neuroscience, and cognitive development. The list also includes key titles from the core areas of social psychology, such as political, personality, cultural, positive, evolutionary, health, and narrative psychology and the 2006 winner of the William James Book Award, Dan McAdams' The Redemptive Self.
PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
The PsycBOOKS database contains thousands of book chapters in PDF—along with centuries of classic and historical works—published by APA and other distinguished publishers.
Springer for R&D ebooks This link opens in a new window
Masland Library has access to the 2005 and 2014 titles published by Springer-Verlag in the following collections: Behavioral Sciences; Business & Economics; and, Humanities, Social Sciences, & Law.

Subject headings

To find resources on Marriage and Family Counseling select the Subject search on the Masland Library catalog.

Many such subject headings may be narrowed by terms designating types of Counseling.

Family Counseling

Ecological Family Therapy

Social Psychology

Marriage Counseling,

You are also able to select more specific topics:

Grief,

Personality,

Counseling - Case Studies

Stress (Psychology)

Emotions

Search All eBook Collections

Search the online catalog for eBooks or Books. Filter by Format to limit to eBook or Print Books and extend Subject & Tags to narrow even further.

Call numbers

Browse Through the Books in the Library

The following sections identify the book locations available in print in the library. This helps if you simply want to physically browse the available books on the shelves for your area of study.

BF	Psychology
BV	Christian Living
HQ	The Family
RC	Psychiatry
RJ	Mental Disorders, Child Psychiatry

Not at the library but want to browse the stacks? Search by call number and view a virtual bookself

Tools for Effective Research

The following links are video tutorials on the various steps involved in effective research. If you are new to research, it is recommended that you view all these resources first.