Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Counseling students Research Guide
This is a 7 step guide on doing effective research for counseling and psychology students. The resources are posted in sequential order below and in the tabs. The block on the right contains useful information on what is involved in research while the steps below contain the resources that you can utilize for your research. As always, if you have any questions or suggestions, please contact us by using the chat option or contact information on the main page.
Steps in your research process
Good research involves taking the time to understand the project requirements, choose a topic, perform background research on your topic, craft the research questions/thesis, search for evidence and then finally write your paper. If you are new to research, we strongly recommend that you first review the links on the right hand side. After you have done that, we then recommend that you start with the steps outlined below.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Step 1: Look up key words to get a broad understanding of the topic topic by using the following dictionaries.
Literati by Credo
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Oxford Scholarship Online Psychology
The psychology list in Oxford Scholarship Online includes all titles from the best selling Oxford Psychology Series and covers cognitive psychology, cognitive neuroscience, and cognitive development. The list also includes key titles from the core areas of social psychology, such as political, personality, cultural, positive, evolutionary, health, and narrative psychology and the 2006 winner of the William James Book Award, Dan McAdams' The Redemptive Self.
Step 1.1: Search the Oxford Reference Library
Search also the Oxford Reference Library which brings together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, Oxford Reference. You will find results that range from short-entry, general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects. .
Masland Online Catalog Search-sm
Step 2. Search the Masland Library Catalog by Keyword, Author etc. to determine what resources are available onsite.
Step 3: Search the Online Databases
Seach Journals: Online and In-Print
Step 5: Search specifically for eBooks and Books to research your topic in-depth. Search from the link below or from the Books/eBooks tab above.
Search for eBooks and Books
Search ALL Masland Library Resources: Online and Onsite Including Databases and eBooks
Step 6. Also Search ALL the Masland Library Resources: Online and Onsite including Databases and eBooks
Search DVDs, Videos and Other Resources
If you have exhausted all the resources listed in the steps above and you still cannot locate the item for your research, we can still get the resources for you via Interlibrary Loan. See info. here for more details.
Tools for Effective Research
The following links are video tutorials on the various steps involved in effective research. If you are new to research, it is recommended that you view all these resources first.
Search All Library Resources
This tool will search for books, ebooks, journals, etc. Filter by the controls on the left after you perform your search.
AskALibrarian_for 267 column