Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Electronic Journals by Title
- American Artist
- School Arts
Journals are a good source of primary information and a lot of research papers require that you include journals. They are published on a regular basis (usually quarterly or monthly). Some journals publish articles that report on the outcomes of academic research while others provide practical information to practitioners in the field. The Library subscribes to a range of journal types from newsy magazines to journals that detail academic research and debate. Two very common types are peer-reviewed/peer-reviewed and trade publications. Navigate thorough the list of databases below to find the best journal for your research. Note also the tools on the right hand side.
Provides access to peer reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects as well as full-text coverage of the New York Times going back to 1995. Millions of articles are available in PDF and HTML full-text format.
Academic Search Ultimate
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Artstor Digital Library
ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of nearly two million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
GVRL (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. Fully searchable across all files.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I-XV
JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It ontains the entire runs, from the first volume up to the volumes published only a few years ago. Currently published titles have a "moving wall" of 3-5 years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.
Literati by Credo
Provides full-text online versions of hundreds of top quality reference books in all major subjects from art to medicine, psychology to history, and technology to literature. Includes bilingual and biographical dictionaries.
Oxford Reference Library
Spanning 25 different subject areas, Oxford Reference brings together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Project MUSE offers nearly 250 quality journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers. Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.