Journals are a good source of primary information and a lot of research papers require that you include journals. They are published on a regular basis (usually quarterly or monthly). Some journals publish articles that report on the outcomes of academic research while others provide practical information to practitioners in the field. The Library subscribes to a range of journal types from newsy magazines to journals that detail academic research and debate. Two very common types are peer-reviewed/peer-reviewed and trade publications. Navigate thorough the list of databases below to find the best journal for your research. Note also the tools on the right hand side.
Provides access to peer reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources covering the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects as well as full-text coverage of the New York Times going back to 1995. Millions of articles are available in PDF and HTML full-text format.
A multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: biblical studies, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Alexander Street Press' Psychology & Counseling presents an extensive array of content -- both video and text-based -- that includes therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments.
Collections include: Counseling and Therapy in Video; the Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy; and, Psychological Experiments Online
Alexander Street’s most comprehensive video subscription, an ever-growing resource that comprises content from 39 full video collections and 8 bonus discipline clusters. Academic Video Online: Premium currently contains more than 40,000 full video titles (not just clips) and well over 20,000 hours of content.
Collections include: American History in Video; Art and Architecture in Video;
Asian Film Online: Volumes I & II; Black Studies in Video; Business Education in Video; Classical Music in Video; Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volumes I, II, & III; Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video; Current Affairs in Video; Dance in Video: Volumes I & II; Education in Video: Volumes I & II; Engineering Case Studies Online; Environmental Studies in Video;
Ethnographic Video Online: Volumes I & II;
Fashion Studies Online; Filmakers Library Online: Volumes I, II, & III; Health and Society in Video; Human Resource Management Online; International Business Online; LGBT Studies in Video;
The March of Time; Meet the Press;
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present; Opera in Video;
The PBS Video Collection; Psychological Experiments Online; Silent Film Online; Theatre in Video; The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy; VAST: Academic Video Online; World History in Video; and,
World Newsreels Online.
Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database that contains citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
The psychology list in Oxford Scholarship Online includes all titles from the best selling Oxford Psychology Series and covers cognitive psychology, cognitive neuroscience, and cognitive development. The list also includes key titles from the core areas of social psychology, such as political, personality, cultural, positive, evolutionary, health, and narrative psychology and the 2006 winner of the William James Book Award, Dan McAdams' The Redemptive Self.
PsycARTICLES contains articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group.
The PsycBOOKS database contains thousands of book chapters in PDF—along with centuries of classic and historical works—published by APA and other distinguished publishers.
PsycEXTRA covers a wide variety of the literature that is so difficult to find it's often called "gray literature" or "fugitive literature." This literature contains the important professional material, such as research reports, conference presentations and abstracts, policy statements, standards, and so on, that is not indexed in standard bibliographic databases like PsycINFO. All of the content in PsycEXTRA is relevant to psychology, behavioral science, or health.
PsycINFO is the APA's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. PsycINFO is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health, with ninety-nine percent of the covered material peer-reviewed.
Masland Library has access to the 2005 and 2014 titles published by Springer-Verlag in the following collections: Behavioral Sciences; Business & Economics; and, Humanities, Social Sciences, & Law.
Search all Databases for Journals
After you perform the search, change the Format type on the left (filter the results) to: Academic Journals.
Tools for Effective Research
The following links are video tutorials on the various steps involved in effective research. If you are new to research, it is recommended that you view all these resources first.
